Implementation of DMA MCQ Quiz – Objective Question with Answer for Implementation of DMA

1. Which of the following DMA is used in the IBM PC?

A. Intel 8253
B. Intel 8254
C. Intel 8237
D. Intel 8259

Answer: C

The Intel 8237 is the DMA used in the IBM PC. 8253, 8254, and 8259 are timers developed by Intel.


2. Which of the following have four transfer modes?

A. Intel 8253
B. Intel 8254
C. Intel 8259
D. Intel 8237

Answer: D

The Intel 8237 has four transfer modes. These are single mode, block transfer mode, demand mode, and cascade mode.


3. Identify the additional transfer mode in the Intel 8237?

A. single transfer mode
B. demand transfer mode
C. verify transfer mode
D. block transfer mode

Answer: C

In addition to the four main transfer modes, there is a verify transfer mode that is used within the PC to create dummy addresses that are used for refreshing the DRAM.


4. Which of the following transfer mode can refresh the DRAM memory?

A. verify transfer mode
B. bloch transfer mode
C. demand transfer mode
D. cascade mode

Answer: A

The verify address transfer mode can generate dummy addresses that are used for the DRAM refreshing.


5. Which of the following is used for supporting the priority scheme?

A. address transfer mode
B. arbitration
C. counter
D. timer

Answer: B

The arbitration is used for providing priority to the DMA requests. The DMA request is simultaneously generated, so in order to avoid the errors, a priority scheme is necessary which is done by the arbitration scheme in the DMA controller.


6. Which of the following consist of a fully programmable DMA controller of two channels?

A. MC68300
B. Intel 8237
C. Intel 8253
D. Intel 8254

Answer: A

The MC68300 is developed by Motorola, which consists of a two-channel fully programmable DMA controller which can support high-speed data transfer.


7. Which cycle can support the burst and single transfer mode?

A. internal
B. external
C. both internal and external
D. address cycle

Answer: B

The internal cycles can be programmed to occupy the partial or complete fulfillment of the available internal bus bandwidth while the external cycles provide support to the single transfer modes and burst mode.


8. Which of the following requires its own local memory and program?

A. DMA controller
B. DMA address
D. DMA peripheral

Answer: C

The DMA CPU has its own address local memory and program so that it will not harm the main memory bus and it is completely isolated.


9. Which DMA is programmed with higher-level software?

A. DMA controller
B. DMA address
C. DMA peripheral

Answer: D

The DMA CPU is programmed with higher-level software which is used to transfer the data and for processing it.


10. Which of the following combine an MC68000/MC68020 type of processor with peripheral and DMA controllers?

A. Intel 8237
B. Intel 8253
C. MC68300
D. MC68000

Answer: C

The MC68300 combines the processors along with the DMA controllers. The processors which support the MC68300 series are MC68000 or MC68020.

Scroll to Top